Skip to content

January 2010 | Affirming a New You!

January 2, 2010

Nancy
Barry-Jansson

Co=Creation Cafe Special:
Affirming A New You!

2010 is here~and it’s NOT science fiction! How will you embrace and benefit from the the amazing energy of the New Year?

Whether you are one who doesn’t know about or understand affirmations, or you’ve tried them briefly in the past only to feel they didn’t work for you, this call will demystify affirmations and show you how to harness their full power for your benefit this year!

Nancy Barry-Jansson is an AffirmingSpirit Teacher/Mentor/Coach who has been working with affirmations since the mid-1980s. Having experienced great results for herself, she began casually teaching others who were inspired and uplifted by the experience. In 2000, she conceived of AffirmingSpirit Blank Affirmation Cards, and in 2003 she launched the product and website. Nancy created and ran the 2008 AffirmingSpirit Affirmation Study with participants across the United States to gather information about why affirmations work for some, but not for others.

CoCreationCafe_ListenOnline_btn
[right-click/choose SAVE LINK AS to download]

After listening to the call, return to this page to submit your comments or questions by clicking the comments link below.

Links mentioned in the call:

AffirmingSpirit Blank Affirmation Cards

HearthMath Institute

Global Coherence Initiative

************************************************************
THE SPECIAL OFFER FOR CO=CREATION CAFE LISTENERS
HAS EXPIRED. Thank you to everyone who took advantage of
the free offer and participated in the drawing!
************************************************************

Your Co=Creation Cafe Host,

Nancy Barry-Jansson

AffirmingSpirit.com

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 5:41 am

    LOVE this Nancy! Great interview! I loved how you thoroughly explained affirmations and the process. Cleared a lot of things up for me.

    And, your description of meditation and the feeling you get when it’s working is dead on. I loveeee that feeling!

    And, one of the parts that resonated with me was Paul and the math class. Great example!

    Happy New Year Nancy!

    • January 2, 2010 9:16 am

      Thank you, Sheila! I’m so glad you enjoyed this call and got so much out of it. Let me know if you have any questions.

      Will you be changing the way you use affirmations, or be writing some new ones with this *k-new* knowledge?

      Many blessings,
      Nancy

  2. January 2, 2010 10:14 am

    Well, I learned previously from you how to ‘tweak’ my affirmations. But this call clarified it even further. (and, you know me…I always need to ‘make sure’….lol)

    So yes, I guess I will be changing how I make affirmations. And thanks again. I actually forwarded this call to a couple friends.

  3. January 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    Nancy,
    I truly hope that everyone listens to this call. You have beautifully explained and dissected the single most important key to manifesting…I love your idea of making a CD to go to sleep to…Definitely will be using that.

    Great job, thanks for all you do to make our lives better!
    Be Blessed,
    denny

  4. January 2, 2010 8:39 pm

    Almost forgot…Maria was great too!…asked just the right questions that served to clarify and emphasize some really key points. Thanks Maria!

    • January 2, 2010 11:52 pm

      I am so happy you enjoyed this call, Denny, and thanks for sharing your comments! Do try recording your affirmations to an MP3, then burning to a CD. The trick is to read them very slowly~when you are relaxed, the mind is much more receptive to a soft, slow speaking tone.

      I agree that Maria did a great job (I *knew* she would!)…she really asked some great questions and kept the conversation going, and made my job a lot easier. I second your thanks to Maria!

      Many blessings,
      Nancy

  5. January 2, 2010 11:32 pm

    One thing I gave a shot, which seems to help push things along a little more quickly & deeply is using NPA (from last month’s Co Creation cafe) at the same time as an affirmation.

    Of course, it’s also useful to use NPA on the opposite first. This helps release energy opposing your affirmation more quickly than just using the positive phrasing of the affirmation.

    Always end, & spend more time on the affirmation, of course – since it’s positive things you want embedded.

    • January 2, 2010 11:54 pm

      Great idea, Si! Do you do NPA first…and then say a list of pre-made affirmations, or do you let the experience of NPA inspire new affirmations?

      At the heart of any successful energy shifting is the positive energy it evokes. Thank you for sharing your great idea, and I look forward to hearing more about it!

      Many blessings,
      Nancy

      • January 3, 2010 12:02 am

        Well, from my (admittedly limited) understanding of NPA, I use the affirmation as the basis of it.

        So, to use one of your excellent examples from this call, I’d say:

        I win big & I win often.
        The energy of winning big & winning often.
        This pure energy of winning big & winning often, it’s not personal
        [repeat that three times]
        .. & I’m willing to experience it
        [then sit with anything that comes up]

        By then any energy surrounding the issue is usually coming up, I’m feeling tightness in my stomach or chest, & I just let it all out (since it’s not personal, right?).

        Sometimes I’ll keep repeating the “this pure energy..” phrase a few times, if it feels there’s more energy there, just to stir it & up & release it a little more.

        & if I feel particularly conflicted about the affirmation, I would start with the negative, eg “I’m a big loser.” Of course, if you didn’t believe it, it wouldn’t affect you, so you wouldn’t feel any energy/tightness. Much like saying “I’m a purple cabbage.” (feel any energy when you say that? No, I didn’t think so).

        So, saying the negative is also a good test to find & clear any resistance to the affirmation. Sometimes you feel energy come up, sometimes not. By doing NPA on the negative, you then clear the way for the affirmation to work much more strongly on you right from the start.

  6. January 3, 2010 5:49 am

    I agree. This was a wonderful show. It clearly explained what affirmations are, how to use them and how effective they can be. Love the examples such as Nancy using affirmations to manifest the money for solar paneling as well how affirmations helped her son do better in math. Nancy, I also love that you incorporated the principles of HeartMath. Great that you are spreading the word about the power of the human heart.

    Kudos to both Nancy and Maria! I enjoyed listening to you both.

    All the best,
    Susan

  7. January 3, 2010 9:09 am

    Nancy …

    You truly were awesome during this interview. It was a pleasure interviewing in and helping you share all your wisdom around affirmations.

    I am very glad that you brought home the point that affirmations only work if you really feel them and they are your truth. Too many times, people come up with affirmations that they really don’t believe. There is a bit of a negative charge around that positive affirmation because they are grounded in lack of having that thing, not belief that they can have it.

    Your suggestions help people to make their affirmations unique & believable to them!

    Great call, Nancy! Always a pleasure collaborating with you. You truly ROCK!

    P.S. Thanks Denny for the compliment! It was EASY BREEZY to interview Nancy.

  8. January 3, 2010 6:03 pm

    Check out additional comments and affirmation ideas at http://www.affirmingspirit.com/blog/2010/01/affirming-a-new-you/

  9. January 5, 2010 5:21 pm

    Hey Nancy

    I agree with all the lovely compliments expressed here – this call gives a really intelligent and detailed explanation of affirmations, and how to get the best from them – so well done you (and Maria, of course, who held the space beautifully)

    I Love the NPA comments from Si, and yes, affirmations of course make excellent cookie cutters! In fact your description of how to spot a highly resonant affirmation would also translate very well for how to spot a ‘cookie cutter’ for NPA – as I would say, ‘noticing where there is animation’.

    I also agree with Si, that it is very useful to address the ‘blocks’ that arise and clear the space with NPA, before moving onto the energy you would like to allow in. Our 33 day programme is set up this way, specifically honour the need to clear out highly identified yukky stuff prior to bring in the yummy stuff! ;0)

    Couldn’t help noticing the slightly incorrect wording for NPA – could be a typo thing, and for the sake of clarity for everyone – Si’s example would run…

    This “I win big & I win often”
    This energy of “I win big & I win often”
    This pure energy of “I win big & I win often”, it’s not personal
    [repeat that three times]
    .. & I’m willing to experience it
    [then sit with anything that comes up]

    so, whatever the ‘cookie cutter’ – in this case affirmation – is, remains constant.

    Loving that ‘I’m a purple cabbage’ example – lol – what a great way to help folks see how to recognise when you’re already free of a load of stuff!

    So, thank you Nancy & Maria (and also Si) for a stimulating podcast and discussion!

    Love
    J

  10. January 5, 2010 6:47 pm

    Thank you, Joel, for sharing this information and clarifying the use of NPA. I hadn’t really thought about affirmations as “cookie cutters” until Si mentioned it. I was interested to know how he interpreted that, which is why he shared the process that works for him.

    As I said in the call, we’re all using some type of affirmation every moment of the day~and I love how NPA helps folks release what’s not working to make room for what feels better.

    Many blessings,
    Nancy

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention January 2, 2010 Call: Affirming a New You! « Co=Creation Cafe -- Topsy.com
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

